ByteSync Reference Manual

Synchronization Actions

About Synchronization Actions

Synchronization Actions are performed during the Data Synchronization phase.
They can involve :

  • Synchronize the content and last modification date of a file
  • Synchronize the content of a file
  • Synchronize the content and the last modification date of a file
  • Create a directory
  • Delete a file
  • Delete a directory

They are created thanks to the controls located above the Data Comparison list.

Figure A: Synchronization Actions management interface above the Data Comparison list

Synchronization Actions can be defined with :

  • Targeted Actions. They apply to files and directories selected in the Data Comparison list when they are created.
  • Synchronization Rules. They are composed of conditions and actions. The actions of a Synchronization Rule apply to all files and directories that meet the conditions of the rule. The Synchronization Rules do not depend on the items selected in the Data Comparison list.

Targeted Actions management interface

Figure B: Targeted Actions management interface
  • B.1: Action drop-down list. Type of the action.
  • B.2: From Drop-down list. Source of the action.
  • B.3: To Drop-down list. Destination of the action.
  • B.4: [CANCEL] button. Click this button to cancel the creation or the modification of the action.
  • B.5: [RESET] button. Click this button to reset the form.
  • B.6: [SAVE] button. Click this button to apply the form and create or update the action.

Creating a Targeted Action

Select the items in the Data Comparison list that you want to apply the action to. Then click [ADD TARGET ACTION] (A.1). The Create targeted action panel appears. It allows you to define the parameters of the action and to save it.
A Targeted Action can only be applied to a single Data type (file or directory). If you select both files and folders, you cannot create a Targeted Action.

If you have selected files, the Action drop-down list (B.1) allows you to select one of the following actions:

  • Synchronize content and date. The contents and the last write time of the Source (B.2) will be copied to the Destination (B.3). If the destination file does not exist, it will be created. Otherwise, its content will be overwritten and its last write time will be set from the source.
  • Synchronize the contents. The contents of the Source (B.2) will be copied to the Destination (B.3). If the destination file does not exist, it will be created. Otherwise, its contents will be overwritten from the source.
  • Synchronize date. The last write time of the Source (B.2) will be copied to the Destination (B.3). If the destination file does not exist, this action is not allowed.
  • Delete. The file will be deleted on the Destination (B.3).
  • Do nothing. Any other actions defined on the file will not be applied.

If you have selected directories, the Action drop-down list (B.1) allows you to select one of the following actions:

  • Create. The directory will be created on the Destination (B.3). If the destination directory does not exist, it will be created.
  • Delete. The directory will be deleted from the Destination (B.3).
  • Do nothing. Any other actions defined on the directory will not be applied.
Info

If a Do nothing action is defined on an element, no action will be applied to it.
A Do nothing action can be defined by a Targeted Action as well as by a Synchronization Rule.

After its creation, the Targeted Action will be displayed in the Data Comparison list on each row that was selected before its creation.

Figure C: Displaying a Targeted Action in the Data Comparison list
  • C.1: Letter “T”. Indicates a Targeted Action.
  • C.2: Action description.
  • C.3: Button [X]. Click on this button to delete this action.

Editing a Targeted Action

Click on the Targeted Action you want to modify. You can click on the letter “C” (C.1) or on the action description (C.2). If you click on the [X] button, the action will be deleted.
The Edit targeted action panel is displayed. It allows you to modify the parameters of the action and to save it, in the same way as during creation.

Info

Targeted Actions can only be modified individually.

Delete a Targeted Action

There are 2 ways to delete a Targeted Action:

  • Click the [X] button (C.3).
  • Select one or more rows in the Data Comparison list and click [DELETE TARGETED ACTIONS] (A.1).

Synchronization Rules management interface

Figure D: Synchronization Rules management interface
  • D.1: All / Any drop-down list.
  • D.2: Source drop-down list.
  • D.3: Data type drop-down list .
  • D.4: Source Element drop-down list.
  • D.5: Operator drop-down list.
  • D.6: Destination drop-down list.
  • D.7: Button [-] to delete the condition.
  • D.8: [CANCEL] button. Click this button to cancel the creation or modification of the action.
  • D.9: [RESET] button. Click this button to reset the form.
  • D.10: Button [-] to delete the action.
  • D.11: To Drop-down list. Destination of the action.
  • D.12: From drop-down list. Source of the action.
  • D.13: Action drop-down list.
  • D.14: [SAVE] button. Click this button to apply the form and create or update the action.
  • D.15: [ADD ACTION] button. Click this button to add a new action line.
  • D.16: [ADD CONDITION] button. Click this button to add a new condition line.

Creating a Synchronization Rule

Click [ADD SYNCHRONIZATION RULE] (A.2). The Create synchronization rule panel appears. It allows you to define the parameters of the rule and to save it.

A Synchronization Rule consists of :

  • One or more conditions
  • One or more actions

The Data Type drop-down list (D.3) is only visible if the Data Type is set to Files and directories. In this case, it is necessary to specify whether the rule applies to files or directories.

If the All / Any drop-down list (D.1) is set to All, each condition must be checked for the rule to apply to an item. If it is set to Any, at least one condition must be checked for the rule to apply.

Info

If the conditions are met, all actions will be executed. The actions can be considered as a non-divisible group.

When creating a condition, the Operator (D.5) depends on the Element (D.4). You can click [ADD CONDITION] (D.16) to add conditions.

The actions of a Synchronization Rule are defined in a similar way to the Targeted Actions. You can see above for more information.

When a Synchronization Rule is saved, a summary of the action will be displayed in the A.2 panel.

Modifying a Synchronization Rule

Click on the summary of the Synchronization Rule (A.2) you want to modify.
The Edit synchronization rule panel is displayed. It allows you to define the parameters of the rule and to save it, similar to what is proposed when creating it.

Deleting a Synchronization Rule

Click on the [X] button (A.2) to delete a Synchronization Rule.

Previous Article

Data Comparison

Next Article

Data Synchronization