ByteSync Reference Manual

Session Profiles

A Session Profile stores the settings for a Cloud Session or Local Session. It can be run to launch sessions that will inherit its parameters.

A Session Profile includes:

  • Session Settings
  • Session Members
  • Synchronization Rules

These settings are saved when the profile is created, which is done on the Cloud Session and Local Session forms. Profiles can be viewed, run and deleted on the Home page.

Create a Local Session Profile

Figure A: SAVE SESSION PROFILE button in a Local Synchronization Session

To create a Local Session Profile, click SAVE SESSION PROFILE (A.1). A form asking for the Session Profile Name is displayed. Once this form is validated, the Session Profile will be saved as a file on your machine.

Create a Cloud Session Profile

Figure B: SAVE SESSION PROFILE button in a Cloud Synchronization Session

To create a Cloud Session Profile, click SAVE SESSION PROFILE (B.1). A form asking for the Session Profile Name is displayed. Once this form is validated:

  • The Session Profile will be saved as a file on your machine.
  • A summary of the profile will be saved on the server. It contains only security information, but no confidential or data processing information.
  • A copy of the Session Profile will be sent to each other Member of the Session who will be asked to accept the saving of the profile file on his or her machine.

Only the First Member of the Session can create a Cloud Session Profile. Whenever this profile is run, a Cloud Session Lobby will be instantiated in order to wait for all members to be connected and then perform cross security checks. The order of the Lobby Members will be the same as the order of the Session Members used to create the profile. The First Member of the Session will thus become the First Member of the Lobby.

In order for the Cloud Session Profile to run properly, it is mandatory that each other Session Member agrees to save the profile on their machine. If a Session Member refuses to register, they will not be able to join the Cloud Session Lobby because they will not have the necessary information. This will result in a missing member in the lobby, and no Cloud Session will ever be able to start from that profile.

Consultation, management and execution of Session Profiles

On the Home page, there is a panel for launching, viewing details of and deleting saved Session Profiles.

Figure C: Viewing, Managing and Executing Session Profiles on the Home Page

The SESSION PROFILE area (C.1) displays the list of saved Session Profiles. The columns are as follows:

  • Profile name
  • Profile type : Cloud Session or Local Session
  • Number of Profile Members: 1 for a Local Session, 2 to 5 for a Cloud Session.
  • Date of creation of the profile
  • Actions which groups the 4 possible actions to launch or consult the profile details.
  • Delete to delete the profile.

Action Buttons for Local Session Profiles

The button [Démarrer une Session en mode Synchronisation] (C.6) allows you to start a Local Session according to the selected profile, and to automatically launch theData Inventory and Data Synchronization.
The session starts immediately after clicking.

The button [Démarrer une Session en mode Inventaire] (C.5) allows you to start a Local Session according to the selected profile, and to automatically launch theData Inventory. The Data Synchronization can then be started manually.
The session starts immediately after clicking.

The button [Afficher les détails] (C.3) allows you to start a Local Session according to the selected profile. TheData Inventory can then be run manually.

The button [Supprimer le Profil] (C.4) allows you to delete the file containing the profile information on the machine.

Action Buttons for Cloud Session Profiles

The button [Démarrer une Session en mode Synchronisation] (C.6) allows you to start a Cloud Session according to the selected profile, and to automatically launch theData Inventory and Data Synchronization.
This button is only available on the First Member Lobby client. After clicking, the customer joins the Cloud Session Lobby associated with the profile.

The button [Démarrer une Session en mode Inventaire] (C.5) allows you to start a Cloud Session according to the selected profile, and to automatically launch theData Inventory. The Data Synchronization can then be started manually.
This button is only available on the First Member Lobby client. After clicking, the customer joins the Cloud Session Lobby associated with the profile.

The button [Rejoindre un Lobby de Session Cloud] (C.2) allows you to join the Cloud Session Lobby associated with the profile.
This button is only available on clients other than the First Lobby Member.

The button [Afficher les détails] (C.3) displays the details of the Cloud Session Profile on a dedicated page. This page looks like the Cloud Session Lobby window, but it is static: it does not allow you to wait, perform security checks, or start or join a session. However, it offers buttons with similar functionality to the C.6, C5 and C.2 buttons.

The button [Supprimer le Profil] (C.4) allows to delete the profile file on the machine and on the server. However, it will not be automatically deleted on other members’ clients. The deletion operation will have to be performed manually on each client so that the profile is completely deleted.

Cloud Session Lobby

A Cloud Session Lobby is a virtual waiting room intended to wait and perform cross security checks on customers who initiate or join a Cloud Session based on a Session Profile.
The Cloud Session Lobby is opened whenever a customer requests to start or join a Cloud Session based on a Session Profile. The Cloud Session Lobby does not have to be opened by the First Lobby Member.

Figure C: Example of the Cloud Session Lobby window

Once all Lobby Members have joined the lobby, security cross-checks are performed so that each member can verify the identity of all other members and check that each other member has a version of the Session Profile file similar to their own.

Once the security checks are successfully completed:

  1. The First Lobby Member creates the Cloud Session, then provides each other Lobby Member with the SessionID and Password.
  2. Each other Lobby Member takes a turn logging into the Cloud Session.
  3. Once all other Lobby Members are logged in, the First Lobby Member closes the lobby and joins the Cloud Session.

If the security checks fail, the Cloud Session Lobby aborts and the Cloud Session will not be launched.

Previous Article

Trusted Clients